State Commissioners

MCSW is comprised of 19 volunteer commissioners, six dedicated staff members and seasonal interns.

The Massachusetts Commission on the Status of Women (MCSW) is composed of women from diverse backgrounds, representing counties and municipalities from across the state. Their commitment to improving the status of women in society is evident within their professional endeavors, and their contributions to MCSW stand true to its underlying mission. Their biographies highlighting some of their notable work within and outside of MCSW are linked below.

All Commissioners are appointed by one of the four appointing authorities: Five Commissioners are appointed by the Governor, four by the Senate President, four by Speaker of the House, and six by the Massachusetts Caucus of Women Legislators. The Commissioners are sworn in by the Secretary of State or another authorized designee and serve 3 year terms.

Interested in becoming appointed as a Commissioner? Contact one of the appointing authorities to find out their respective policies and timelines for appointments. Prospective Commissioners may also contact Executive Director Shaitia Spruell for additional information regarding the nomination process and expected responsibilities. Learn more about the expectations of commissioners here.

As a Commission, we are empowered to: